The School Sport Management Committee (SSMC) was established in 2011 when the ACT Primary School Sport Association (ACTPSSA) and ACT Secondary School Sport Association (ACTSSSA) merged to be under the one umbrella overseen by representatives from each of the four regions.

The SSMC Executive comprises Principal Representatives from the Government and Catholic school sectors; members from ACT Parents and Citizens Council, Association of Parents and Friends of ACT Schools, Association of Independent Schools and Catholic Education Office; the School Sport ACT Operations Manager as well as delegates from Belconnen, North / Gungahlin, South / Weston and Tuggeranong primary, secondary and colleges.

The committee meets six times a year to discuss and resolve issues that arise from administering School Sport in the ACT. It is responsible for ensuring that all ACT regional and state events are organised and held in an appropriate manner that instils a correct code of conduct amongst all competitors, managers and spectators.

The SSMC establishes sports specific sub-committees for each of the sports included on the School Sport ACT calendar as well as oversee School Sport ACT competitions, championships and selection of teams to represent the ACT at School Sport Australia events.

Julie Douglas
Chair of School Sports Management Committee

2016 SSMC Executive Members

Julie Douglas
Deputy Chair
Amanda Beresford
Suzi Foley
ETD Principal’s Representative
Michael Battenally
APFACTS Representative
Julie Sengelman
ACT P&C Council
School Sport ACT
Ellie Daley
Catholic Education Office
Kerrie Johnston
Association of Independent Schools
Andrew Wrigley

2016 SSMC Regional Information

SSMC 12U Regional Information
SSMC 13&O Regional Information